The End of an Era: Game of Thrones

Well, it’s official, Game of Thrones has come to an end. Although the last season has been a little controversial, I think something that we all can agree on is that it was one of the most influential cultural phenomenons of our time and I feel lucky to have been a part of it. I have spent about six years of my life loving this show and over the six years, I feel like I have grown with some of these characters. I have learned lessons with these characters. You’re not a true fan if you didn’t. Game of Thrones may be over but these five quotes will live on with me forever.

“The more people you love, the weaker you are. You’ll do things for them that you know you shouldn’t do. You’ll act the fool to make them happy, to keep them safe.” – Cersei Lannister

18 year old me just needed this in my life. Love the ones who love you. Don’t throw the word love around to just anyone and make sure when you do love, you love for the right reasons.

“Never forget what you are. The rest of the world will not. Wear it like armor and it can never be used to hurt you.” -Tyrion Lannister

You can’t change what you are and who you are. You can only embrace it. Embrace it and people can’t use it against you. You deserve to be loved and accepted for who you are. If people can’t see past flaws, old habits and old decisions; they don’t deserve who you are and who you can grow into.

“The lone wolf dies but the pack survives.”- Ned Stark

Family is everything. From a young age, my family has always taught me to depend on family because in the end they are all you have. Need I say more?

“It doesn’t matter what we want, once we get it we want something else.” -Peter Baelish

Be grateful, don’t spend your entire life wanting more than what you have. This isn’t to say, be satisfied where you are and don’t try to better yourself. But understand that it’s okay to want more, work hard but sometimes, look around and be thankful for what you have and how far you have come.

“A woman’s life is nine parts mess to one part magic, you’ll learn that soon enough … and the parts that look like magic often turn out to be messiest of all.”- Cersei Lannister

Okay, I know two quotes from the same person, but hey, she’s my favorite character and deserves to be recognized for the wise and strong woman she was. These words have always stuck out to me. As women, we are constantly worried about other women, especially on social media. Obviously Cersei from the outside was a Queen and people always saw her life from the outside. What was on the inside of the Red Keep wasn’t always sunshine and roses. Her life was not picture perfect, neither is that girl on Instagram and neither is yours and hey, ya know what, its OKAY.

So today, I wanted to dedicate a blog post to a show that I have been quoting since I started watching. It was hard but I chose five of my favorite quotes from the past eight seasons, quotes that teach lessons. They have always been more than just words to me, just like Game of Thrones has always been so much more than a show to us.

 

Leave a comment