The 8th of July

After a long weekend, it’s always hard to come back to work. This one is no different- after 4.5 days out of the office, I’m depending on this midday coffee a little more today. For those of you who know me, you know I love my country and know that my favorite holidays are the ones based around red, white and blue.

After the initial “Oh shit, I have to be in a bathing suit this weekend” fears fade, these holidays give me a sense of peace and a sense of calmness that I don’t get around other holidays such as Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s not frowned upon to spend it with good friends, most times around a body of water with a drink in your hand and the food is hands down the best holiday food – I mean come on, hamburgers, hot dogs, brats, pasta salad, corn on the cob, baked beans, s’mores.There’s no awkward conversations with family, just cheers to the flag. On Fourth of July, there’s no pressure to be anything you’re not because you’re celebrating what you are- an American.

This morning, yes, it was hard for me to get my sunburnt body, unwashed hair, hungover butt out of bed but on my commute to work, I thought about all the things I am grateful for and it overpowered the bad mood times a million. I am so lucky and blessed to live the life I live and to surround myself with the people I do.

I am so grateful for the men and women who fight and have fought to protect our country, who fight for the rights we have. Some days, I feel sorry for some of the people who live here because we do have such cold-hearted people- like any country does. But I will never feel sorry for supporting and loving my country and for what it’s supposed to stand for. And that’s the best part about America, is you don’t always have to agree with what everyone else thinks and believes, you have that right. You can have democratic views mixed with conservative. You don’t HAVE to pick one side, this country was built on disagreements, compromise and the ability to have your own beliefs. What you HAVE to do and what you SHOULD do- is respect every single person in this country, because that’s what being American is about. Understanding there are different views in this world and figuring out how to live and love each other through the indifference.

So, cheers to America and to the rest of this week. I know it’s tough to come back, but challenge yourself this week to not have the “I have to go to work” mentality and to have the “I get to go to work” mentality. Because, we are all lucky to have the freedoms and rights that we do- and I think we forget that sometimes.

Xoxo~ Kenz

 

Leave a comment